Democratising Patient Empowerment… Next steps?

Posted on: 12.03.2018

In the last years there has been a lot of talk about patient empowerment. We know that empowered patients make healthier decisions on their lifestyle and that it helps them to achieve better health outcomes. However, is patient empowerment really happening at a larger scale? As patients, are we making informed decisions together with our healthcare providers? To be a real empowered patient we need more than searching for information on the internet. Not only we need to have control of our data but also be able to make informed decisions based on this data with the support of our doctor.

Which should be the next steps to build a framework in which citizens and patients become empowered? This and other questions are going to be discussed in a live tweet chat (#eHealthChat) organised by HIMSS Europe and Health 2.0 on March 19 at 6PM CET (5PM GMT, 12PM EST, 9AM PST).

During this 60 minutes tweet chat, key points such as the below will be approached:

  • Digital literacy and patient empowerment
  • Access  and ownership of data
  • Genomic data as the future of patient empowerment
  • Personalised empowerment strategies for specific populations
  • Consumeration of healthcare

We would love to have as many voices as possible in this debate coming from all sides of the healthcare ecosystem. Please, join us in Twitter on March 19, use the #eHealthChat hashtag and follow the questions and answers coming from these Twitter accounts:

Tweet Chat: Democratising Patient Empowerment

Monday March 19 (6PM CET – 12 PM EST – 9AM PST)

Hashtag: #eHealthChat

 

*“Empowering Citizens and Patients to Become CEOs of Their Own Health” will be one of the main topics of the HIMSS Europe & Health 2.0 Conference to be held in Sitges (Barcelona) on May 27 - 29. View the preliminary programme.

Teresa Bau

Healthcare Communications Consultant, Spain