About Future50

Future50, supported by IBM Watson Health, is a new initiative by HIMSS Europe that aims to identify and bring together the top 50 Healthcare IT leaders in Europe. This community will work alongside HIMSS Europe and our partners to overcome current and future systemic health challenges.

The HIMSS Europe Future50 is who we should look to for the future of healthcare today. They influence the potential of digital health to improve healthcare for all of us. The Future50 community will be encouraged to share expertise, collaborate over borders and foster innovation both individually and as a group.

HIMSS Europe will provide the community with a platform to achieve this and with a mechanism to promote the eHealth agenda at a European level. The community members are expected to attend quarterly online meetings as well as occasional dedicated activities within the existing HIMSS Europe framework. Community members receive recognition in HIMSS Europe media and events. They also receive HIMSS Europe Individual Membership for a year, as well as complimentary passes to various HIMSS Europe or UK events year-round.


The nomination process will consider individuals at all levels including c-suite, front line professionals, patient advocates, policy makers, entrepreneurs and many more who are at the forefront of leading the e-Health agenda. The individuals nominated must be based in a European country.

Nominations can be submitted by anyone from healthcare providers, governments, not for profit organisations as well as IT vendors nominating their customers. Individuals can self-nominate or can be nominated by someone who is familiar with the nominee’s professional background. The nomination must include short descriptions (100-200 words) of the nominee's proven excellence in a minimum of three out of the four following areas:

  1. Leadership & ambition
  2. Best practice
  3. Driving innovation and transformation
  4. Improved patient care, experience our outcomes

The nominations are reviewed and ranked by HIMSS Europe's Governing Council

Future50 - 2018 Cohort

We would like to thank everyone who submitted a nomination for the Future50 community. After reviewing a large number of nominations of high quality individuals and profiles, and taking into consideration a number of complex factors, we are proud to announce the make-up of the Future50 community - 2018 cohort.

  • Goedele Antonissen, CIO, OLVZ Aalst
  • Manuel Armayones, Business Developer Director at UOC eHealth Center, Catalonia Open University (UOC)
  • Ran Balicer, Director, Health Policy Planning & Founding Director, Clalit Health Services & Clalit Research Institute
  • Juliet Bauer, Chief Digital Officer, NHS England
  • Victor Bautista, Founder, SocialDiabetes
  • Tom Coolen, CIO, AZ Groeninge
  • Mariano Corso, Professor and founder Observatory on Digital Innovation in Healthcare, Politecnico di Milano
  • Juan Luis Cruz, CISO, Puerta de Hierro University Hospital
  • Bogi Eliasen, Futurist & Special Advisor on Future of Health/Head of Denmark Unit UNESCO Chair in Bioethics, Copenhagen Institute for Future Research
  • Lucien Engelen, Director, Radboud Reshape Innovation Center
  • Tom Fiers, Coordinator, Cozo
  • João Filipe, Medical Doctor, Neuroradiology Resident, Hospital São João
  • Daniel Forslund, Commissioner for innovation and eHealth, Stockholm County Council
  • Theofanis Fotis, Principal Lecturer/ Course Leader MSc Health, University of Brighton/ School of Health Sciences
  • Jan Geissler, Founder and Director, EUPATI & CML Advocates Network
  • Louise Geraghty, Council of Clinical Information Officers-Management team / Clinical Practice Support Nurse, HSE
  • Ulf Gingby, IT strategist and object owner, Region Dalarna
  • Yvonne Goff, CCIO, Health Service Executive
  • Jorge Gonzalez, Director, TICBioMed
  • Inma Grau, Founder and Director, Fundación iSYS
  • Clayton Hamilton, eHealth Regional Focal Point for the European Region, World Health Organisation
  • Pia Heikkurinen, Theme-Specialist, Capacity for Renewal, Sitra, the Finnish Innovation Fund
  • Pieter Helmons, Head of Pharmacy, St Jansdal Hospital
  • Rowland Illing, Chief Medical Officer (CMO), Affidea
  • Rita Kadic, Head of Efficiency and Continuous Improvement. Hospital de Cascais - Lusíadas Saúde
  • Ramon Lerchundi Goñi, CIO, Osakidetza- Hospital Universitario Donostia
  • Lorena Macnaughtan, iCEE.health Event Director, Digital Health Consultant and Advisor, ICEEfest
  • Joan Carles March, Director, Andalusian School of Public Health
  • Julio Mayol, Director of Innovation, Hospital Clinico San Carlos Madrid
  • Bertalan Mesko, Director, The Medical Futurist Institute
  • Christophe Mouton, CEO, AZ Maria Middelares
  • Kathrine Myhre, CEO, Norway Health Tech
  • Marc Oertle, FMH Innere Medizin, MHIM Leitender Arzt Medizin/Medizin-Informatik Spital STS AG Thun
  • Elife Özkan, CIO, Tire State Hospital
  • Manuel Perez Vallina, CIO, Hospital General Universitario Gregorio Marañón
  • Ronald Petru, CMIO, Radboudumc
  • Luke Readman, CIO, East London NHS
  • Henrik Schødts, Project Chief Executive, New North Zealand Hospital
  • Jordi Serrano, Founder and CEO, Universal Doctor
  • Harpreet Sood, Associate Chief Clinical Information Officer, NHS England
  • Paul Timmers, Independent
  • Marko Topalovic, CEO, Breathe Solutions
  • Bart Van den Bosch, CIO, UZ Leuven
  • Lieke van Kerkhoven, Co-founder, FLOOW2 Healthcare
  • André Vandenberghe, CIO, CHU Charleroi
  • Maximilian Waldenfels, Founder, GO Reha - Caspar Medical
  • David Walliker, Chief Information Officer, Royal Liverpool NHS Trust
  • Marcin Wegrzyniak, Director, Center for Information Systems for Health Care
  • Harrison Weisinger, Group Professional Services Advancement Director, Specsavers Optical Group
  • Marcin Wojciechowski, Head of the Teleinformatics Department, Uniwersyteckie Centrum Kliniczne